About CCS

Learn about who we are and how we help Canadians with their finances.

Events for Financial Literacy Month November 2013

November is Financial Literacy Month in Canada and the Credit Counselling Society is excited to host a variety of free workshops, webinars and activities to help increase the money management skills of Canadians.

Financial Literacy Month November 2013 FLM-MFL

We have events planned all across Canada in various communities, online and on campus. Come join us and flex your financial fitness muscle!

Jump down to the section you want

Student Success Workshops for Post Secondary Students

Contest on Twitter & Instagram

Free Public Workshops (Attend In-Person)

Free Credit & Personal Money Management Webinars (Online Workshops)

How to Attend One of Our Live Webinars

Student Success Workshops for Post Secondary Students

Being a student is challenging. When students know how to create a realistic spending plan, manage credit cards and avoid getting deep into debt, they are better able to focus on completing their education successfully. College and university students learn money management skills during financial literacy month

Education Specialists throughout Canada will be facilitating our Student Success Workshop at local colleges and universities from BC to Ontario to help students build their money management skills.

If you are a professor or instructor and would like to have us as a guest speaker, contact the Director of Education for more information.

Contest on Twitter & Instagram

Enter our contest on Twitter and Instagram to win 1 of fifty $20 Tim Hortons gift cards. Just take a photo, shoot a video or tell us what you do to save money, post it to Twitter or Instagram with the hashtag #BeingBrokeSux and you could win a $20 gift card! Learn more about the contest.

Public Workshops – Attend In-Person

Let’s Talk Credit!

Do you ever wonder if you can obtain your own credit report? Or what a good or bad credit rating is? Join us at this workshop and we’ll let you know how to get your credit report for free, explain what positively and negatively impacts your credit score, and share strategies to protect or repair your credit. This is always a very popular workshop, so don’t miss out!

West End Library, Winnipeg, MB, November 7, 2013 (Thursday) 6:30pm CST

Osborne Library, Winnipeg, MB, November 21, 2013 (Thursday) 6:30pm CST

Register to Attend a Workshop in Winnipeg

Navigate Your Financial Storm with a MAP (Money Action Plan)

Do you have an action plan for your money? Or is there nothing left to plan with because your pay cheque is already spent?  If you’ve always wanted to learn how to create your own budget, this is the workshop for you. Participants will learn to create a money action plan by tracking their expenses, planning their pay cheques, creating a savings plan and setting realistic goals.

Bob Prittie Metrotown Public Library, Burnaby, BC, November 13, 2013 (Wednesday) 7pm PST

Register to Attend the Workshop in Burnaby

Credit & Personal Money Management Webinars – Attend Online with Your Computer

What are you doing for Financial Literacy Month? Sit and get fit, financially speaking, of course!

Our Education Specialists will be facilitating a variety of practical online workshops for all Canadian consumers. It’s easy to join us from the comfort of your computer. Topics will include:

Money Action Plans – Navigate Your Financial Storm with a MAP

Do you have more month than money? Do you rely on your overdraft to get you by? If you’ve always wanted to learn how to create your own budget, this is the webinar for you. We’ll talk about how to create a money action plan by tracking expenses, planning pay cheques, creating a savings plan and setting realistic goals. By the end of the webinar you’ll know what you can do to fit your month back into your money.

November 5, 2013 (Tuesday) 6:30pm PST, 7:30pm MST, 8:30pm CST, 9:30pm EST

Register to Attend Online

 75 Ways to Save on Household Expenses

Have you ever found yourself overwhelmed by your household expenses? Running a household is much like a running a business. Expenses like groceries, vehicle maintenance, rent, mortgage payments, cell phone bills and utilities can add up faster than we realize. Join this webinar and learn how to manage these expenses with confidence.

November 7, 2013 (Thursday) 6pm PST, 7pm MST, 8pm CST, 9pm EST

Register to Attend Online

November 16, 2013 (Saturday) 1pm PST, 2pm MST, 3pm CST, 4pm EST

Save money on household expenses with a method that works for you!

Register to Attend Online

Super Simple Savings

Join us for this webinar to learn how to create and organize your savings. We’ll cover the simple – coins in a jar – all the way up to stocks and bonds. We’ll help you create a savings goal and talk about the pros and cons of various savings vehicles based on needs and timelines.

November 13, 2013 (Wednesday) 6:30pm PST, 7:30pm MST, 8:30pm CST, 9:30pm EST

Register to Attend Online

Debt Reduction Strategies

Join us to learn about ways to handle debt on your own and what signs to look for when deciding if you need some help. There are many ways to pay down debt. In this webinar we talk about the different ways to become debt free, the pros and cons of each method, and we answer your questions over the phone and online.

November 16, 2013 (Saturday) 11:30am PST, 12:30pm MST, 1:30pm CST, 2:30pm EST

Register to Attend Online

Let’s Talk Credit!

Would you like to find out how to get a copy of your own credit report? Or what a good or bad credit rating is? Learn the answers to these questions along with strategies to protect or repair your credit by joining us at this very popular webinar.

November 19, 2013 (Tuesday) 6:30pm PST, 7:30pm MST, 8:30pm CST, 9:30pm EST

Register to Attend Online

Budget Breakers

Impulse spending is one of the biggest budget breakers. Come learn about our exclusive TEMPO method and how it can help you eliminate the three biggest budget breakers (the little expenses, the irregular expenses, and the emergency expenses) from everyday worry and temptation.

November 20, 2013 (Wednesday) 6pm PST, 7pm MST, 8pm CST, 9pm EST

Register to Attend Online

Ending the Financial Feud – Couples & Money

Money is at the root of countless disagreements between couples. Money-proof your relationship by learning about yours and your loved one’s money histories, values and triggers, as well as strategies how to overcome differences and to start working together. Attend the webinar on your own or with your partner.

November 28, 2013 (Thursday) 6pm PST, 7pm MST, 8pm CST, 9pm EST

Register to Attend Online

How to Attend One of These Live Webinars

Attend a free webinar from home to increase your money management skills.

To register for one of the free webinars (online workshops) listed above, simply click on the “Register to Attend” link below the webinar topic that interests you. We will email you a link to attend the webinar after you’ve registered. If you need more information, please call our office at 1.888.527.8999.

To participate in the webinar, you will need a telephone and a computer with an internet connection. The webinar is live. This means that you will hear the facilitator speak, she will ask questions and those attending can participate if they wish to.

One of the great things about a webinar is that you can attend from the comfort of your own home. If you want to wear your cozy slippers, no one will be the wiser! But the best thing is that we get to learn from each other.

You will not need to share any personal details during the webinar. The webinar is not recorded and is not available after the scheduled time has ended.

 

<< Go back to the Blog main page

Need expert help?
Looking to get back on track?
Get started today by making an appointment to speak with one of our credit counsellors. We’re happy to answer your questions and help you. All of our appointments are free, confidential and non-judgmental.

Related Articles

All About CCS

CCS has been helping Canadians since 1996. We help, we educate, and we give hope. Here’s how.

Credit Counselling

Are you curious about what credit counselling is or how it works? Here’s what you need to know.

Client Reviews

Directly from our clients, read and hear about their experiences with CCS.

 

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *